Some people think that public libraries are no longer important, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Public libraries used to be the house that contained knowledge and information, but in recent years many individuals are arguing that libraries have become a thing of the past, while others believe that libraries are something essential. In this essay I will be discussing both views and why I do agree with the second opinion. To begin with, people who opine that libraries are no longer important base their argument on the fact that most people do not have the time to stop at libraries and this is mainly because of hectic work schedules. Moreover, due to technological,, advancement many people are turning to read electronic books because they are more convenient and affordable than going to libraries to borrow books. A recent study that was conducted in the UK showed that the number of people visiting the libraries has declined from the past decade by half. However, libraries have been around forever, the oldest known library goes back to the seventh century B.C, at, first the library was used to house religious text, but nowadays it provides various resources and search tools for both individuals and communities. Although libraries are getting left behind as technology takes over our life, we can not forget that libraries provide students in schools and colleges a relaxed environment to study. Furthermore, libraries contain computers, printers and other useful tools that help pupils in doing projects and research. Moreover, many individuals can not afford to buy books, and do not have access to computers. Therefore, Here comes the most important role of the library which is the place for people to borrow books and use computers. In conclusion, on the one,hand we can not deny that the importance of libraries has decreased through time and especially because of technological revolution, on the other hand, libraries have always been and will always be a place that gathers information for generations to come.