Gender equality has not been achieved in our society. Women still do not have the same rights and opportunities as men. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Gender Equality is a heavily discussed topic. Some people argue that women still do not have the same rights and opportunities as men, although much effort has been made to achieve gender equality. I support this idea because many women have fewer professional and educational opportunities than men. Firstly, it is evident that women have fewer opportunities than men because women are less likely to be hired and promoted than men. Having the same rights and opportunities means that both women and men have access to the same professional opportunities. However, many companies evaluate women and men, considering their gender. Additionally, companies still have a glass ceiling that deters women from getting promoted. Therefore, it is clear that women have less access to the professional opportunities. Moreover, women have less support from their families than their male family members. A lot of people in Korea still have stereotypes that women should stay home and support their families. There are many cases where some parents do not support their daughter the same as their son. Some girls sacrifice themselves because of that mindset. Besides, some people think that women should stay home and bring up their children. Even though both women and men have the right to pursue a career, these kinds of thoughts have led women to stop pursuing a career and be a housemaker. To sum up, it is undeniable that gender equality has not been achieved yet because women have fewer chances to get promoted and have less support than men.