To succeed in a business, one needs to know maths. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether maths is necessary in one’s business success. From my point of view, I would not consider myself an advocate of this statement. Although maths is essential for people to succeed in their business, there is a wealth of fields which can also make people successful. Without a shadow of a doubt, maths plays a paramount significant role in people’s success. On the grounds maths can help corporations calculate and manage their money. For instance, by calculations, leading companies such as Apple or Samsung always have finance departments which submit financial reports about cash flow, revenue and expense to upper- managers in order that they can make a profit expansion. Hence, maths can act as a precursor for people to become high- achievers in running a successful business. While the necessity of maths is widely acknowledged, there are other factors that can lead to one’s success in a business, especially ambition. With high ambition, enterprises’ managers dare to take risks to have a crack at myriads of aspects and turn their company into a multi- facet one. For example, Pham Nhat Vuong, the head of Vingroup, is ambitious to dominate Vietnam’s market by providing different services in education, medical care or accommodation, so as to create a billion- dollar enterprise. Therefore, besides maths, success can be attributed to other facets. In my conclusion, maths is crucial in contributing to people’s success in a business. However, it can result from alternative aspects.