In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for government. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

An improved quality of life has resulted in the rising population of the older generation. This essay will argue that the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first illustrate how it may disadvantage the authorities' fiscal budget, followed by an analysis that the existence of senior citizens brings more advantages as they can spend more time with their families and share their experiences with the younger people. The main reason why the rise of the ageing population may put pressure on the government is because it requires more financial assistance in order to support the elders' basic needs. In other words, there are more funds needed for monthly incentives and the establishment of senior-friendly infrastructures. They also can not make substantial contributions to the economy as most of them are no longer part of productive age groups. For example, a renowned country with significant numbers of old people, Japan, has to allocate more budget to address their needs, instead, it could have been spent on other national priorities like building projects. On the other hand, those opposed to the former idea say that such a phenomenon allows them to spend more time with loved ones and share their insights with the younger generation. This way, they could witness more milestones achieved by their children and grandchildren. In addition, elders also tend to have more expertise and experiences that we may not have so their insights could be beneficial for us to address life problems. For example, our grandparents have been through so many crises, such as world war and financial turmoil. In this case, younger citizens can reap lessons from their experiences while surviving those hard times. This could serve as an important value that may be helpful for us if such an event ever occurs in the future. To conclude, lifelong senior citizens could bring more emotional and intangible benefits even though the officials should spare more money to build a more inclusive society. It clearly shows that the advantages of such a phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages of pressured authorities' budget.