Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, advertising has increasingly developed with various marketing ideas attracting more transactions. Some people hold a belief that the incremental revenues companies gained through advertising reflect the strength of it and show that people do not really need those products. As far as I am concerned, I partly agree with this statement. On the one hand, I do believe that advertising has an impact on the purchasing power of dwellers. Marketing departments of each enterprise always have the ambition to make the advertising more appealing and easily accessible to all groups of buyers, from the young to the aged with colourful images or catchy tunes. Take, mobile phone as an example. Ordinary people only need one mobile phone to call, chat and surf the Internet and other the basic functions of it; but with advertising that shows the new points in the phone’s appearance or unique features, a wide range of customers readily accept to spend their time queuing outside the stores to buy the latest version of smartphones. On the other hand, many customers do not rely on advertising to buy products. Because video clips or posters introducing the goods may exaggerate their usefulness in real life, numerous citizens decide to search the information and read the reviews on their own to assure the reliability of the products. In addition, in the aspect of education, a multiple of parents would let their offsprings study in the centres that their marketing campaigns are not much invested on the account of the fact that the best education system would focus on the quality of lessons, not the number of students. In conclusion, I concur with the idea that advertising has a strong influence on the customers but the buyers still have their own preference to spend their ex