The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the stagnant development of the economy and the impact of Covid-19, many people around the world are facing the risk of losing their job. While some argue that government should provide a basic living income for those who have lost their job, I personally think this is an unwise policy from both the personal level and the social perspective. On the one hand, simply providing financial support to people in difficult situations will definitely bring more negative impacts on individuals themselves. Most of the time, people who receive financial aid from governments are more likely to accept the reality and give up trying to work out the issue themselves. If their unemployed situation is caused by their lack of professional skills, or their own mistakes at the workplace, they will lose a good opportunity to learn the lesson, let alone build up their own competence. Therefore, instead of helping people, governments are depriving individuals’ capability in life by giving them money when they lose jobs. On the other hand, subsidizing unemployed people will surely end up a poorer social economy as a whole. Obviously, the financial aid won’t be much, so people are still holding less than they did before. Having no job, they inevitably spend less, which, subsequently, contribute less to the economy. Furthermore, such a small amount of money can hardly solve the living problems for the one who is the only bread-maker of a family. How can a portion of subsidy support a whole family? Therefore, the social economy will surely suffer due to a higher unemployment rate. To conclude, giving money to individuals should not be a constructive method for governments to solve the unemployment problem.