Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinion is divided on whether animal testing should be utilized to facilitate medical improvements of humankind or restricted as these experiments are inhumane. Although animal experiments benefit numerous fields, I am apprehensive about this situation. Supporters of texting in animals argue that these living creatures play an indispensable part in discovering new medicines. This is because animals such as rabbits, monkeys, or rodents possess nearly identical DNA and organs, which helps to reduce the steps involving employing voluntary participants to test the latest medicines. This point may be valid, but since technological advances have been integrated into medical testing, scientists can use small pieces of tissue or human cells to analyze the efficiency of new drugs with pinpoint accuracy. Additionally, animal testing always raises concerns about reliable results since these creatures are far from the biological characteristics of humans, resulting in more than 95% of novel drugs failing to be applied to humans, according to the latest research. Experimenting on animals to benefit humankind raises a question about ethics and morals. It must be acknowledged that all living creatures, without an expectation for testing animals, are sentient. In other words, if a chemical or substance is dangerous for humans, it should not be tested on animals since both can not handle pain and intense suffering. However, some may argue that such animals are wired to be submissive and are inferior to humans. This may be true to some extent. However, countless canine companions, offering a hand to the day-to-day life of the disabled, have eliminated this gap between humans and animals, bringing a deeper insight into the appreciation and respect these animals deserve. In conclusion, testing on animals can surely enhance people’s quality of life since it boosts the productivity of producing new medicines, but state-of-the-art medical improvement, unreliability of the results, and ethical concerns can negate the aformentioned benefits.