The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, some are calling for the institution of universal basic income for all citizens. Personally, I agree that this policy benefits the improvement of living standards, from the long-term perspective, while I still believe that it will be a potential risk overall for a country. On one hand, it is undeniable that universal basic income is an advantageous tool in terms of living conditions. Simply because it enables all citizens to have stress-less life, resulting in less homeless. For employed people, this extra amount of money will be a new opportunity for them to have a financial investment and other preferable activities. For unemployed people, this bailout money enables them to meet their basic needs and better healthcare treatment. Therefore, issuing universal basic income is beneficial for living standards for all citizens. On the other hand, a basic income scheme is risky and not sustainable in the long run for a country. First and foremost, it decreases the incentive to work, owing to the fact that most unemployed people could largely depend on this subsidy, rather than find jobs in the future. In this way, the unemployment problem is still unsolved and may cause further potential problems, such as inflation. Furthermore, the living conditions may not be improved because this scheme requires a larger amount of expenditure to invest, and governments have to rise the whole tax rate in order to proceed with this project for all time. Therefore, the working population will spend more income on tax and they could not enjoy a more comfortable and qualified infrastructure system and healthcare due to a lack of financial support from governments. Consequently, on the long-term level, universal basic income should not be supported and it leads to insecure possibilities for a nation. In conclusion, although a basic income scheme can meet the basic needs of the unemployed population, it is unsustainable and dangerous for the development of a nation in the long run.