Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

More and more people are currently exploiting non-traditional methods to treat their health -related illnesses despite access to more professional medical services. The following essay will discuss the detrimental effects this trend may impose on public health and provide examples of healer’s practices and the placebo effect of supplements. For centuries countless cultures consulted with so-called shamans or healers whenever they experienced health issues before the age of the medicinal revolution. Those individuals were more respected and trusted in the public eye and maintained their social status until the modern days. However, these trusted “doctors” usually don’t hold specific medical degrees and thus can exacerbate the conditions of the patient. For instance, some illnesses demonstrate only slight symptoms during the first stage of infection and a medically uneducated or trained healer would make wrong assumptions about the actual treatment. As a result, a person who only showed mild symptoms will die without appropriate medicine and probably surgical procedures. Another harmful example in this topic would be dietary supplements that have recently infected our society and health industry in the last 50 years. Initially, during their introduction, they have been advertised as the best way to improve your immune system and overall well-being. Nevertheless, many studies have shown their negative impact on the human body and it has even been proved that supplements can cause cancer after a long period of application. For instance, dozens of parents were convinced that their children were in need of taking additional calcium supplements to ensure better bone structure. Following that, those parents were feeding their offspring with this particular pill not knowing the negative consequences of their parental actions. As a result, overconsumption of calcium contributed to and was the main source of the development of bone cancer according to recent studies. In conclusion, there are plenty of reasons people may find for using non-traditional medicine. Nonetheless, in my opinion, the usage of not professional treatment especially for self-diagnosed diseases can have a detrimental serious impact on your health as in the case of healer practices and misleading dietary supplementary pills.