Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’ How true do you think the statement is? What measures can governments take to discharge people from using their cars?

In modern-day, four-wheeled vehicles have become more popular than how they were in the 20th century. Over the last 3 decades, demand for cars rose significantly which led to traffic congestion all over the world. In my point of view, I totally agree with this statement and in this essay, I’ll discuss the problem as well as the solution for it. In a recent study, researchers have found out that almost in every 3 families, at least 2 of them have their own vehicle. This is the main reason why traffic jams have already become one of the main issues that we have ever faced. An increase in the number of cars leads to air pollution as well as time-consuming. When cars line up on a single road, they will spread a huge amount of carbon dioxide to the area, which is one of the reasons why global warming happening right now, on the Earth. Moreover, in the 21st century, nothing is as valuable as time. Because of this traffic congestion, the average driver spends about 40 hours annually just staying in a car queue. order to solve this problem, the government should invest in public transport and introduce new tax law for owning private transportation. In the last 5 years, Tokyo encouraged its residents to use public transportation by building new underground metros. Because of this, now, almost 70% of the city’s people use metros every day. In addition, the regimes should increase tax for cars. If the tax rate increases this will stop people from owning a vehicle for themselves and using public transport instead. To sum up, because of the increase in car ownership rate, traffic jams caused many problems in many countries. But, by adding the price of tax and investing that money into public transport, the government can solve this issue.