In some cultures the parents arrange marriages for their children but in others people choose their own marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Many people believe many times because of their religion that is right to oblige their kids to marry someone, whereas in other nations where people are opposed to it. It is true that there are civilisations where people do not allow their children to choose their partner, but parents do that. The main disadvantage is that young adults end up unhappy, because they have to live with someone who do not really love. Also, there are families who marry their child at a young age either with someone at the same age or maybe older, clearly because they cannot fend for themselves, making a deal with other families for financial support. In the only case where this situation could be conducive to the youngsters, is that their families knows what is the best for them and they want to see them happy. On the other hand in developed countries where democracy prevails, citizens are free to make their own choices and decide how they want to make their family. This is beneficial for them because they have the opportunity to find someone who really love and end up happy. But there are also many cases where someone makes a wrong choice concerning his partner. For example, there are many families in which domestic violence prevails. In addition, another disadvantage for people who have the right who they will marry. is that they maybe never make a decision and dedicate on their careers, as a, result they never make a family. To sum up. I am a belief of that someone must be free to find the person who want to spend the rest of his life.