ome people think that all entertainment TV programmes should educate people about the importance of social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tremendously controversial statement heating a debate over whether or not all amusement TV channels raise people’s awareness about uneased issues of the society. Personally, while I believe that notorious recreational TV programmes can be an effective tool to widely disperse severe global issues, not all of them should be used for this purpose. It is evident that an eclectic mix of hilarious TV shows can render such a great contribution in educating people from all walks of life about social matters. To illustrate, the majority of people might have a tendency to go for amusing programmes when sitting in front of the TV screen after nerve-racking working hours at the workplace rather than breaking news programmes such as CNN which mostly brings political news or currency fluctuation. For instance, National Geography or the BBC Earth are internationally acclaimed channels that broadcast dire issues related to global warming, the deterioration of environmental qualities or animal extinction with vivid documentaries. By doing so, viewers can gain such a profound understanding of the urgent situation that society is in. Despite the aforementioned redeeming features, it is irrefutable that not all recreational TV shows should focus on spreading social problems as this can distract the audience from the core value that the show originally delivers. For example, Master Chef can be cited as a telling example since the show’s main purpose is to share unique cooking recipes and the cuisine culture all over the world so it would be unimaginable if it aired social issues such as overeating or food wasting. Without a shadow of a doubt, several TV game shows are probably unfit for dispersing society problems. To sum up, I am of the opinion that airing global matters on entertaining TV programmes can tremendously aid people to acknowledge pressing issues of the community, however, it should not be all of the shows.