These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and what effects this can have.

People today tend to throw away/ dispose of/ discard/ dump items before they wear out// become unusable. This is mainly attributed to the fact that they do not treasure/ cherish/ value/ appreciate possessions and can inflict severe damage on the environment// wreak devastation on the environment and undermine people ’s psychological wellbeing. One of the primary causes for constant throw-away culture is that people no longer take material possessions seriously. Economic development has considerably elevated general income levels, which means many people can afford items that they would have to save for a long time to buy. Also, credit cards and online loans allow people to own what they crave. As a consequence, people do not think they should utilize an item to the fullest until it wears out, but instead, they may dispose of/ discard/ dump it once they feel it is outmoded/ outdated, or they do not like it. For example, people used to use a mobile phone for several years until it does not function, but now, many people upgrade to a new smartphone when the latest model is released. The “throw-away” lifestyle can result in serious/ severe problems, and one of them is rubbish/ waste/ trash overload. Despite some recycling programs, most discarded items end up being garbage/ rubbish/ trash. If the waste, especially non-recyclable and plastic materials, is not disposed of appropriately, but instead, it is left piling up in landfills, buried underground or incarcerated, severe air, water and soil pollution can ensue (<V.> 某种问题、坏处、困难随之发生). Moreover, constantly purchasing and throwing can take a toll on people ’s well-being. Those who often compare themselves with others in terms of material possessions tend to feel inferior and inadequate, which can contribute to low self-esteem and anxiety. In conclusion, people tend to dispose of items more frequently than they should because they do not cherish/ value/ appreciate their possessions, and this may lead to an excessive amount of waste and harm people ’s psychological health.