living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some people believe that living in a foreign country that local people communicate using a different language than one’s native language can result in their social issues and other living issues. In my opinion, I agree with the statement. However, there may be some solutions to help cope with them. Having to speak other languages that one is not fluent in can be difficult and can lead to misunderstandings. Being misunderstood can be embarrassing and frustrating that one may end up not wanting to communicate with other people. This can result in self-isolation and eventually can become mental problems. In addition, those may find the language more difficult in some essential activities for living. For instance, renting houses or finding job positions may require one to sign a legal contract that presents an advanced level of language. That is to say, those with low levels of fluency can become struggle to live abroad. However, those problems can be elevated by some solutions. First, improving language skills is the most essential method to solve the problem in the long term. By knowing more language, they will be able to communicate their thoughts efficiently. Second, joining some social groups can help in the social aspect. While they participate in social events, they can make connections to other people that can help them through hardships in the new environment. For example, when I was an exchange student in Japan, I joined a Thai community where I could discuss my problems with other Thai students, and they helped me in suggesting solutions from their own experiences. In conclusion, although I agree that people living abroad can have serious social and practical issues such as being isolated and not being able to do essential activities, there are several methods to help cope with the issues, which include learning the language and participating in social events.