Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons behind this view? What are the solutions to change it?

One school of thought holds that global visitors have a negative impact on various aspects of the local countries. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it. There are two primary reasons why local inhabitants often consider international tourism as a cause of many serious issues in their countries. One justification is that it may have an adverse bearing on traditional customs. For example, while visiting Vietnam, some Western strangers could be rowdy and wear unsuitable clothing, such as going to the pagoda where one must wear long and polite clothes but not all visitors know it. In consequence, it might have an undesirable influence on local young people who copy easily whatever they think is cool like this. Another rationale is that foreigners often pollute and throw litter in tourist attractions. For instance, a variety of famous beaches in Vietnam, such as Phu Quoc and Sam Son, have been polluted because of this lack of respect for the local environment, and the unconsciousness of sightseers when they finish eating leave garbage and throw it indiscriminately beaches. To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. First of all, traditional beauty should be widely spread. This is because enhancing the development of society as well as national identity will help our country to access new cultures and be known by foreign tourists so that they can better understand the customs of our country and behave properly. Secondly, the government should have policies to support people in cleaning the environment and issue fines for those who lack awareness. By the way, sightseers or even residents will be more responsible for preserving the environment as well as respecting the culture of the country they visit. In conclusion, there are some underlying motives behind this negative tendency towards international traversing, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.