In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

For years, in some countries, adults usually lectured that children can attain anything if they work at their utmost. Such a lesson is beautiful and sound. Yet I am going to discuss a bigger 'picture' of this message with its pros and cons in this essay. Certainly, there are several advantages associated with this notion, and one of the most obvious ones is to impart optimism to young people. That is, leading them to nurture personalities such as discipline and patience is proper education in their early years. Indeed, when they believe in the message, they would be diligent and patient in doing everything on a regular basis such as studying. In the long run, when they are grown up, they would be totally capable of handling such hardships to achieve their objectives. On the macro level, this could benefit the whole society with qualified and tough citizens. However, parents should notice that there is also a blurred line between optimism and fallacy. Given this, the lecture could in turn make children misunderstood about the world, and they just take it for granted that they could always be successful in everything as long as they are persistent enough. Subsequently, when they face failures in the later years, they would be extremely disappointed because the outcomes are not what they expected. The higher the expectation level is, the more severe the depression is. Therefore, it could somehow ruin the belief and discourage children to take a second chance in their lives. In a nutshell, though the idea of those words is of goodwill. Nonetheless, from my viewpoints, I think that people should teach their children with a deeper and wider perspective on this so that they would not misinterpret it. Only by doing so can the young generation will be raised and cultivated with a more sound and acute ideology.