Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

With the growth of social media in recent times, we have completely changed the way we interact with people in our daily lives. While some people believe that this made us socially awkward others opine this helped many to overcome their social anxiety. It has helped people overcome their worst fears in interacting with people. Therefore, I don't agree that it makes our physical interactions uncomfortable. First of all, by growing our social media presence we could make connections with people worldwide which wouldn't have been possible otherwise. This will encourage us to interact with people from different cultures and vivid personalities which builds confidence with every interaction and can be carried over in real life. For instance, without social media, we would make very few friends which will limit our worldview and hinder our confidence. Therefore, virtual interactions can be very helpful in tackling awkwardness. Secondly, it helps us to find groups with similar interests which make learning or exploring more fun. Often, we struggle to find companions with similar interests in group activities where people are sometimes forced to get along with the rest of the team to not sound rude. For example, people interested in making sandcastles can form a group and get together on a holiday. Social media has become a standard place to meet like-minded people virtually first. It helps them to form meaningful connections which encourages them to participate without feeling pressure. Therefore, it doesn't make our physical interaction awkward but helps us in making it more beautiful.