Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine. Why do you think this happens? How can people be encouraged to exercise regularly?

In hospitals, moderate physical exercise is suggested to elderly people now, while most patients do not adopt the advice from doctors. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons behind such a phenomenon and suggest some possible solutions for the encouragement of regular exercise. To begin with, one of the major reasons why older people do not follow an exercise routine is that the risks of injury are existing during physical exercise. For instance, some older people have chronic illnesses, such as severe arthritis, osteoporosis or advanced cardiovascular disease that limit their choice of physical activities. Therefore, most elder people believe that they are incapable of these physical activities and then refuse to have followed the suggestions in order to protect themselves from injury. However, according to the survey, regular exercise is necessary and needed for people aged above 50 years old by providing more benefits to the older body. Hence, in order to encourage people to have regular exercise, at first, we should bring reassurance and build confidence to those people who are afraid of exercise. Meanwhile, hospitals can provide more professional and comprehensive plans of physical exercise including preparations and video examples to their patients. In this way, the exercise routine can be largely implemented. Furthermore, another main reason is that some older people may have a preference for sedentary and cost-effective activities, such as reading and socializing. Simply because they think exercise is boring and they have no budget to join a gym or purchase some equipment. Therefore, they are reluctant to proceed with the physical exercise scheme. As for this barrier and misconception, the communities and doctors can encourage free exercise such as walking and provide free demonstration classes. Similarly, local communities can educate their families and relatives to support their older family members to have regular exercise. In conclusion, physical exercise is essential for elder people to keep healthy. Although there are two major barriers to resist, these feasible solutions can be taken done to resolve problems.