Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

Technology has an impact on the interactions people have with each other. It has made people become closer to each other than before and students can learn from international teachers. This is a positive development because people’s relationships have improved. People’s interactions with each other have improved because of the technology. Individuals who live away from their families in foreign countries are able to communicate with their families face to face using technologies such as Whatsapp, Viber and Zoom. This makes their relationship stronger as they can communicate when they need moral support. Furthermore, students now have the ability to learn from international teachers. Earlier students had to travel to a foreign country to learn from a foreign teacher, but because of Zoom and Skype students can find a teacher online and learn from them. For instance, a Spanish learner is able to find a native Spanish speaker through internet and take lessons through Zoom. This is a positive development because people’s relationships have improved as a result of this technological advancements. Individuals living away from their families do not feel isolated and they can always keep in touch with their families and help each other in need. This makes their relationship stronger as they know that their families are always with them. For example, in the past, Sri Lankans who emigrated to Middle Eastern countries had to wait for a letter to come from home to learn about their family’s news, but now they can share their photos through social media and keep abreast of each other’s daily lives. In conclusion, because of technology people have become closer to each other and it created opportunities for students to learn from teachers all over the globe. This is a positive development since technology has made people’s interaction with each other stronger.