Some people say that the best we to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are several means to become healthy both physically and mentally. It is argued that the number of places for people to play sports should increase so that the overall people in the area can be improved. This could be one way of improving public health, however, this might not be the best. Having more numbers of sports facilities could encourage people to exercise more resulting in better health. Since most sports require a huge area of land and several members, if such places are provided, people may invite their friends to join the activities. However, most people nowadays are addicted to the internet, building these facilities might not guarantee that they will be used and it might harm the government financially. There are other methods that could be implemented in order to promote a healthy lifestyle. There are other factors contributing to having a healthy life. Firstly, the food people consume is one of the main reasons that causes obesity. The kinds of food that are harmful to the body are, for example, salty, sweet, and oily. Thus, limiting the consumption of these sorts of food could potentially reduce the risk of getting popular diseases, such as heart problems, obesity, and diabetes. In European countries, the manufacturers of these foods have to pay a high amount of tax to the government, resulting in an increase in prices for consumers, which is proven to be the right method to discourage people to eat less. Moreover, one of the main causes of cancer is cigarettes. The selling of it should be strictly banned because it does not only have a negative effect on the consumers, but it also has an impact on those nearby. In conclusion, providing sports facilities might not be sufficient to encourage people to have a healthy life. The government should also increase taxes on unhealthy foods and stop the selling of addictive substances.