Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that there is an increasing number of businesses nowadays having their conferences and training sessions held online. While this can offer various advantages, it can also bring about some detrimental effects. On the one hand, there are several advantages of this trend that can vastly outweigh its disadvantages. The most obvious advantage is that it can help businesses save unnecessary expenses on arranging meeting rooms, training venues, meeting documents and tea break, which can allow the businesses to use this budget to invest in other vital fields, thereby bringing profit for the company. Another merit worth mentioning is that it can help save time on travelling. This can be seen in meeting online with multi-national corporations. Distance discussion can help to save waiting time on long-haul flights from one nation to another for a conference. On the other hand, the drawbacks of holding a company conference are undeniable. The first disadvantage is that meetings rely on a strong connection to the Internet, and thus any breakdown or network congestion can interrupt the discussion. This can lead to the outcome of the conference and it can affect the target of the company. The second downside is that when the staff come to training courses, due to the lack of face-to-face communication and the limited function of some web or software. This may stem from the employees inability to understand online guides and instructions. As a result productivity and improvement can be very limited. In conclusion, although it can be beneficial in some situations, this development can also be disadvantageous to a certain extent.