Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime , and the motivation for commiting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is no denying the fact that criminals should be punished. While it is a commonly held belief that there should be a fixed penalty for all types of felony, there is also an argument that the circumstances of an offence should be considered when deciding on a judgment. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, a specific punishment would help avoid crimes in the future. In other words, people would be afraid to do the felony because of the penalty, which would lead to a safer environment and a stable society. In addition, giving a clear rule would make people understand the results of their actions. For instance, committing murder would be judged with a death penalty. Or giving a strict felony to anyone dealing with drugs. In other hand, taking circumstances into consideration is a good way to rule with justice, not with equality. It is also possible to say that crime must fit the punishment. Moreover, the intention of the indicted should be considered. For example, there is a difference between someone stealing bread and someone stealing 10000 dollars. Or someone who is charged with murder when he was defending himself and other that commited murder in cold blood. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, i tend to agree with the second statement. Because I see that there must be fairness in judgment. Not any person who is found guilty is the same, there is a difference in each case.