Some people regard tattoos and body piercing as an extreme form of fashion. Why do you think young people are prepared to damage their skin, permanently, in order to be fashionable? Do you think teenage rebelliousness or peer pressure plays a greater role? Discuss.

In recent times, fashion has taken a major trend on our dressing and socialisation to the extent of having lasting marks and inks deposited on body parts in the name of tattoos. Teenagers and youths often crave this lifestyle most probably due to increasing awareness. This essay shall discuss various contributory factors to tattooing and also highlight peer influence as the major underlying factor. One cannot rule out the impact of media in modern-day generations as this has caused a great shift in culture around the world. Awareness of dress codes and so-called modern-day designs in various countries have become increasingly popular thanks to social platforms including Facebook, Twitter and Whatsapp maximally exploited by youngsters. For example, such an avenue create room for torso inking to be copied by admirers in other regions who do not have full knowledge behind such actions. Furthermore,popularity could be worse if the influencer is a celebrity usually followed on social handles, thereby targeting a large pool of the public Although media houses can control the minds of the youths, peers have a key role too. Teens oftentimes naive, resort to seeking support and advice from friends rather than the more-matured adult. Thus, communication is kept even stronger amongst themselves with the use of modern-day devices and information readily transcends. For instance, research conducted among college boys in a certain university in Nigeria has shown that the earliest age of tobacco smoking occurred before age 15 with friends having a huge influence. In conclusion, even though some regard body inking as extreme, it is still highly favoured by the young ones due to the available media network and underlying peer group.