Some people think that news has no connection with people’s lives; so it is a waste of time to read newspapers and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the ultra-modern epoch, reading newspapers and watching news channels are being opposed, due to the reason that they do not provide any knowledge related to the living style of certain people. I partially agree with this notion, I will explicate my viewpoints in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, there is a wide array of reasons why people reckon that reading or watching the news is not worth their time. The most significant reason is that news companies are now known to be under the control of the government that is under rule. Moreover, government officials give them permission only to show or print the news that favours them and boycott the ones that may destroy their reputation. Consequently, people are kept away from the basic knowledge about what is happening around them. For example, in India, a farmers' protest is being conducted by people, due to which roads are blocked and people are unable to travel between two states that are Haryana and Punjab. But, this is not being shown on any television channel or newspaper, and owing to this people are not aware of the road blockage. Thus, people suffer from some problems whilst driving in these areas. Despite the arguments, there are a plethora of disagreements about this phenomenon. First and foremost, there are still some newspapers and channels that provide the news about the robberies happening in some places. In Brampton, for instance, there were some car thieves, who used to steal cars from peoples' driveways by breaking into their vehicles. Therefore, almost all the news channels covered this news once a day and helped it to widely spread in the city. Thus, people became aware of this and took some decisive steps for the safety of their cars. Hence, news channels still have a connection with people's lives and can be worth watching sometimes. To conclude, I would like to argue that although news organizations do not provide all the information that suits people's interests, they are still worth their time in some situations.