Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people believe that once a person becomes a criminal, he will always be a criminal. Do you agree with this statement? Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion. Doing an offence becomes a permanent identification of a criminal according to a section of society. However, due to changing mindsets, taking strict punishments and getting support from society, I believe criminals leave the world of crime. Primarily, the mindsets of many offenders have been changed completely. This is because the government is running many rehabilitation programs to instil some moral values in wrong-doers so they would not do illegal activities again. By taking these programs, offenders can have a fresh start in their lives. For example, a survey report in 2020 shows that most criminals have altered their thought processes while attending some welfare events in jail and become more ethical. Beside modifying the thinking process of criminals, another reason for becoming a non-offender is the hard punishments given by the prison authorities. Since the law-breakers are put behind bars, they not only face difficult living situations there such as a single hard bed, a poor diet and just a small room which lacks other luxury facilities but also do unpaid hard work. This teaches a lesson to them. In addition to this, the society offers support for some criminals. As they are allowed to live in society after their punishments, they can work anywhere and develop sound relationships with others. Therefore, they become a responsible citizen. In conclusion, some people think that criminals never become good citizens, whereas I would argue this because there is a complete modification in the mindsets of criminals who already completed their punishments for wrongdoings along with the support of society.