In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries it’s a common practice to teach children that as far as they work hard, they could achieve anything in their life. This essay will outline both the related benefits and drawbacks. By giving this message, children could be more motivated to study harder which may result in getting higher grades. Furthermore, some parents try to give them some role models to follow from which they can take the inspiration they need. It’s almost a solid reality that the actual job market is competitive as never before. Children need to understand that as soon as possible so they could improve their chances to be hired for their dream job and hopefully not face any financial difficulties in the future. Unfortunately, a couple of drawbacks might be involved as well. Some psychologists warned that children might develop a sense of competitiveness that might be dangerously high, preventing them to enjoy other activities during their free time that help them to develop stable relationships with their friends. In addition, children must bear in mind that the result of their actions doesn’t necessarily depend on their willingness. Sometimes the outcome is influenced by external factors that are simply out of their control, regardless of how much effort they demonstrated when doing their tasks. To sum up, children that are constantly motivated to work harder as possible might experience better academic results that will help them when seeking a job, but if not correctly balanced, they could develop a wrong attitude and mindset about themselves that badly reflects in their relationships and life expectancies.