In many countries, pets are treated as family members and people spend a lot of money on them. What are the advantages (pros, benefits, positive aspects) and disadvantages (cons, negative aspects, drawbacks) of having a pet?

Some people indeed treat their pets as well as splurge them if they are human beings. While pets may have adorable eyes which are nearly impossible to resist, the truth of the matter is that pet ownership does not suit everyone. Animal ownership can be a positive and life-changing event, but it can also be an utter disaster. Firstly, I will present several merits of owning a pet such as it can provide valuable companionship whenever we feel alone while also reducing stress. For instance, after going through a hard working day, I constantly feel excited coming back home to hug my cat. As a result, I felt contempt as if my tiredness had vanished. Secondly, certain researchers agree that having furry buddies helps humans live longer, happier, and healthier lives mentally and physically. Thirdly, previous studies have proven that pet owners tend to have lower blood pressure, cholesterol, and triglyceride levels than people who don’t own pets. That means having a furry pal can decrease the chances of suffering a heart attack later in life. On the other hand, animals kept as pets require a lot of maintenance. Therefore, we have to spend countless money to supply their food, grooming items as well as their litter boxes. Furthermore, companions can bring several diseases to their owners. For example, their furs or hairs can cause allergic reactions to sneezing, skin rashes, and coughing. However, most people can keep their critters while managing their allergies. Moreover, whether properly trained or not, pets will have a very negative impact on the actual condition of your house. To cite an example, dogs can be notorious for chewing everything in sight. This can include doors, table legs, recliners, and carpets. The list is endless. In conclusion, having a pet can have both advantages and disadvantages. Above all, we have to consider many things before adopting by making sure we can take care of them likewise providing an appropriate living. That is to say, I do not recommend to adopt if you are allergic to it.