Parents and teachers make many rules for children to encourage good behavior and protect them from danger. However, children would benefit from fewer rules and greater freedom. To what extend do you agree?

There has been a growing perception that while guardians strictly regulate children with rules to prevent possible dangers and foster standard behaviours, the children would far more benefit from freedom. The author firmly agrees due to encouraging children's full potential despite feasible risks of social ills. On one hand, less strict regulations may empower children to explore their true potential. In other words, offering more freedom for children would help them gain self-confidence and self-reliance which would encourage the children to conduct further research about themselves in order to obtain deep insights into their true capabilities, qualities and manners. As a result, young individuals may have access to a broader pool of opportunities that helps them sharpen their minds as well as upgrade their skills so that they can achieve more outstanding success than they expected. On the other hand, objectors contend that applying fewer rules is risky owing to possibilities of social evils. To clarify, children nowadays can fall into social ills which worsen and degrade their morality and behaviours, so numerous rules should be maintained to hinder the risks from young people. Conversely, if the children are overprotected by these rules, they will be less inexperienced in dealing with social issues. Moreover, they might be confided to develop their personal growth and pursue their goals. In conclusion, I strongly agree because freedom drives children to achieve their goals regardless of possible risks of social evils. Ultimately, despite the fact that strict regulations play a key role in fostering children's appreciated behaviours, it may lead to overparenting which limits the potential of the children.