Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has long been debated whether criminals should be put in jails or be educated and trained. Although the former is valid to some extent, I maintain that we should provide perpetrators with education and training courses. Undoubtedly, putting criminals in prison is attractive since they cannot harm society. Indeed, when people who commit crimes are sent to prison, they are isolated from the community, meaning that dwellers are not concerned about the risk of danger. For example, Le Van Luyen, a murderer who slaught a whole family, faced life-long imprisonment, which means he is no longer a potential threat to society in Vietnam. Therefore, it is beneficial to send such hazardous perpetrators to prison. On the other hand, despite the above, I believe we should educate and train criminals as they deserve another chance. Apart from those who committed irreversible crimes, some people only violate small laws such as shoplifting and robbery. Therefore, once the proper education and training courses are provided, they can definitely become harmless inhabitants and reintegrate into society. For example, many juvenile delinquents in Vietnamese prisons are educated about numerous lines of work such as engineering, cooking and temper-controlling. As a result, they can find a stable occupation and contribute to the community when liberated. That is why we should educate and train criminals. In conclusion, although prisons prove themselves as an effective tactic to deal with perpetrators since they isolate them from society, it is optimal to provide them with training courses and education to give them a chance to re-join the community. In my opinion, only people committing minor crimes should be given a chance to participate in these training courses and education.