Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

For the time being, the necessity of laws and rules in this society has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. Some claim that if each individual is allowed to do whatever they want, the community can not operate in a desirable way. I would contend that while legislation plays a vital role in keeping social stability, the governors need to provide suitable rules for citizens to ensure their rights instead of applying laws on all activities. Without a shadow of a doubt, legacy is of importance for administrations to operate social orders properly. Adopting laws to determine human obligations and rights can assist people to have a thorough insight about their limitations with a view to diminishing some possibilities of committing crimes. In that way, unexpected wicked acts may be lessened, which brings tranquillity and safety for residents in order to lead their lives. For instance, transport laws of stopping driving under a red traffic light can shape the traffic flow in respective order and that can assure pedestrians to pass through roads safely. Hence, it is undeniable that rules and legitimacy can act as a precursor for running a decent society. Although some redeeming features of applying laws are widely acknowledged, a rigid society full of legislation can induce some annoyance in people. If some daily activities such as entertaining or pursuing their own religious beliefs are legitimately controlled, it may bother citizens and that can create an unpredictable risk of some attacks where people fight for their freedoms. North Korea can be cited as a convincing example of a nation with strict regulations such as preventing residents from laughing and doing recreational projects during the day memorizing the president’s death. This weird requirement is opposite to the initial aim of protecting human freedoms and causes some controversy in people. Undisputedly, strict and inappropriate rules even make the society not function efficiently. To sum up, although legitimate rules help the society operate properly, the governors should introduce persuasive laws and harmoniously apply those at a suitable level to stabilize the community.