Many people think that zoos, which keep wild animals in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

All living beings in this world are created equally and have their own right to freedom. Many people oppose the idea of keeping wild animals captivated in an artificial environment and think that the concept of zoos should be abolished in todays day and age. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this sentiment as it is cruel to keep these creatures entrapped in closed spaces and there are different methods available in the 21st century to study them. In zoos majority of the animals are living in poor conditions as they do not have enough space to live, compared to their natural habitat where they can move around freely. For instance, a tiger in a jungle will use hundreds of acres as his territory, where as in a man-made enclosure he is hardly able to get an acre for himself. These types of cruel conditions in zoos have a negative effect on the mental and physical health of the animals. Ages ago, due to the lack of technological and scientific advancements, the existance of zoos was justifiable from a scientific point of view. This situation has changed now, as we already have advanced methodologies and instruments at our disposition. For example, radar technologies and microchip collars are effectively used to understand and study the life-cycles of these wild beings without displacing them our of their habitats. In the modern world we can keep our academic research on the fauna going on without disturbing them. There is no need left for mankind to jail these majestic animals as it is inhumane and limiting as well as we have other ways to conduct research, thus eliminating the need for zoos.