In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community? (* truancy = the situation when a child pretends to go to school but in fact goes somewhere else, for example to play unsupervised. The verb is ‘to play truant from school.’

In the times of advanced technological communication tools and the increasing repulsive nature of schoolgoers, it can be said that truancy has become easier to initiate, which has caused deep concerns for families and educational institutions to contain. This essay will explore potential functions behind this and elucidate consequences on the children and populations. Firstly, truancy may be the result of the excessive influence of bad children groups in the school. To explain this further, nowadays, trends on phones and social media allow bad ideas to sneak into young generations inquisitive yet vulnerable minds, which may be at times more enticing. This may get students to propagate and run such groups that involve propagation and spreading information about truancy. As a result, children might opt to commit this over studying at school. Another one is low security at school to prevent students to go out without valid permission. For example, if there is only one security personnel covering two gates of the school, students can easily distract and trick the guard to sneak out. Turning to impacts of truancy, regular skip of classes may result in low performance in school exams. This is because if they are out of the class all the time, they will miss the opportunity to understand complex and essential topics that might be tested in examinations. Given their absence from the class, students will find them difficult to solve and answer in the pressure of examinations. For instance, students missing algebra classes won't be able to solve it in the exam. A second effect could be the rise in crime rates due to ineffective supervision of kids. Consequently, children outside secured grounds of school may fall prey to detrimental yet enticing ideas of criminals, who are looking for this opportunity. Similarly, children wittingly and unwittingly, may commit unlawful acts that might affect their future life and the community. In conclusion, truancy is a modern pressing problem that stems from low security and bad influence, which is likely to result in negative outcomes on children and the community as a whole with increased crime rates and reduced learning.