In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the number of patients suffering from illnesses is increasingly alarming and fast food is blamed for causing this situation. Some hold a belief that this kind of food should be imposed with a stricter tax by the local state to reduce the amount of consumption. As far as I am concerned, I opine this statement has flaws and there are other viable solutions to deal with this situation It is undeniable that fast food has brought much convenience to the lives of people. Due to the development of globalization, adults have to work harder to earn a living and students have to study continuously; which results in the deficiency of time to relax, let alone have a full, perfect meal. For this reason, fast food appears and workers or students can easily buy in the supermarkets and eat, without the complex preparation in the kitchen. In addition, processed food is also an ideal choice for families which have kids. Instead of eating rice day by day, parents could give their offspring some chickens, fries to diversify their meals and stimulate their growth. Consequently, if governmental bodies put a higher tax on fast food, the daily lives of citizens are seriously affected. Moreover, I do believe that there are various other measures taken by the authorities to tackle the public’s health problems, not to impose a higher tax on fast food. One feasible solution is that they should encourage dwellers to take up more exercise. Fast food contains a huge amount of cholesterol, the negative factor for our circulation system. Thus, only by doing physical activities on a regular basis could people get rid of cholesterol in their bodies and keep fit. Placed in the context of many youngsters pursuing a sedentary lifestyle, this measure is the most suitable one. Another way is that a healthy diet should be adopted in every household. This diet would consist of a lot of vegetables because these foods are good for our health, erasing the risk of diseases, such as cancer. In conclusion, the state need not raise the tax level on fast food on the account of the fact that alternative measures would be more favourable to address the community ‘s health problems.