Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to, consider important matters from an informed viewpoint, and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the concurrent world, universities are becoming more and more ubiquitous. Some people think that higher education should provide general knowledge and other sensational issues, while others concern that delivering what they may need in the future is more important. Both of their opinions have their positive sides. To me, I consider that we should give them more common things. This essay is going to discuss the given reasons and my own ideas. Firstly, we cannot deny that those colleges are not only boosting the students' academic level but also cultivating the other abilities. For example, they can join a club to erect their social ability. This cannot only alleviate their stress but also make more friends. Furthermore, those younger counterparts should also been delivered the other fields such as art. They can gain more benefits when they have studied various types of subjects. Take Apple’s founder as an example, he had learnt some Chinese letters when he was studying. After he invented his first iPhone, he utilised what he had learnt in his Chinese class in his inventions. Additionally, we can see that it does have several positive outcomes. Secondly, it may lead to some flaws if we prepare those courses merely for jobs. They may only know their original subjects. Subsequently, they may not really care about the other things. For instance, a electronic engineering student may really good at his main lessons, but he may never look at Van Gogh’s masterpieces. To conclude, I consider that the former one is better than the latter one, and I utterly agree that those universities should be concerned with general knowledge.