Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However at best these methods are ineffective, and at worse they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traditionally, medicine was prescribed in a form of herbal remedies or tonics. These practices are well known and popular even today. Some people opine that even the best alternative forms of medicine are not as good as modern western medicine and can cause a great degree of harm. I agree with this statement and will elaborate my perspectives on both sides in the subsequent paragraphs and illustrate why modern medicine is still prefered. Firstly, we cannot deny the truth and worthiness of alternative medicine which existed thousands of years ago. Chinese medicine and ayurvedic medicine are still widely practised across the globe. Some people agree that they feel more at ease with these treatments as they were once used by their forefathers. They also believe that these kinds of therapy have lesser side effects and are more effective than the ones given in the hospital and clinics. However, what they fail to understand is that modern medicine has undergone various research, experiments and clinical trials in order to be put into practice. Dosage, side effects, contraindications, indications and duration of treatment don't just emerge on their own but are scientifically proven. This phenomenon does not occur in alternative medicine whereby most of the curative methods are given through rough estimation and test and trial efforts which may sometimes fail to give adequate effects after consumption and at worst, hazardous. Secondly, pharmacy and medicine are fields that require long withstanding studying and understanding of the modalities of modern medicine. They are not simply practised by any laypersons and there are laws that regulate the release of these drugs to consumers. It is quite obvious that various specialities are customary in the field of treating the complex human body including the manoeuvring of high-tech devices such as ultrasounds, x-ray machines and ventilators to diagnose, treat and sustain life. This is impossible in alternative medicine whereby the capacity of knowledge required is rudimentary as compared to modern medicine. In conclusion, I would like to reinstate that despite the fact that alternative medicine is still widely practised today, people cannot rely on their benefits entirely as they lack many entities in ensuring a safe and effective treatment as compared to modern medicine.