Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, scientific research across the world is carried out and controlled sometimes by the government, sometimes by private companies. Even though there are some opinions that favour corporations to take over the control of scientific research, I think this should be conducted in the hand of the government. Although private companies are willing to conduct scientific research, there are some significant dangers with this. In terms of the quality and purpose of the research itself, corporations carry out this with the main purpose of profit. There have been several scandals relating to new products, such as medicine, being introduced to the market hurriedly with inadequate quality, causing significant negative impacts on users. Furthermore, the fund that a private institution can spend on a project is unable to compare with the amount the government can invest. With a huge possibility of misleading development, there is a high chance of insufficient funding which might lead to the corruption of the research. Therefore, with these uncertainties, it is not an optimal option to handle a scientific project at the hand of private companies. On the other hand, the government is able to bear the responsibility to carry out scientific research. Firstly, when deciding whether a project should be conducted or not, the government has considered the need of the society, both present and future. This ensures the demand relating to the new product when it is introduced. Moreover, in the process of developing a new product, cooperation from other departments is needed and only the government, with its enormous human resource and great power, is able to do this. Consequently, because of the above reasons, government -controlled scientific research could bring the desired outcome. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government should take the responsibility to carry out and control scientific research. This would ensure the continuity of the project and the high quality of the new product.