In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, people have their own preferences to decide whether to rent or buy a landed house. In some countries, owning a house is more necessary than leasing one. In this essay, I will discuss why this happens and share my point of view that the phenomenon of owning a house indicates a negative trend. There are many reasons why owning a house is very important. Having a house means owning an asset which brings high flexibility for the owner to manage their own assets. For instance, people who live alone are free to design and decorate their rooms, while a family group will have the flexibility to redevelop their house as their family members grow. Moreover, it is also possible for managing a property by selling the house or mortgage it when people need a loan. In my opinion, a massive development for a detached house in order to fulfil human basic needs will bring negative situation for the environment. It is duly noted that land exploitation for housing construction might be resulting in several catastrophes such as floods because the buildings reduce the proportion of green open space and the drainage system is not good enough in serving settlement areas. Additionally, extensification for housing development will trigger a land subsidence phenomenon as happened in Northern Jakarta which is renowned as a sinking city. To sum up, although it has become very beneficial for people to own a house, it will bring serious problems from an environmental perspective specifically in triggering several disasters by massive housing development.