A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In modern times, tourism has become a key factor for day-to-day activities where there are those who say that a significant income source is from tourism, while others feel that we are worse off because of the issue. In this essay, I will examine the positive aspects and drawbacks of tourism and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why the tourism industry boosts the country’s economy and a large number of new job openings for the local people. Firstly, tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, transportation, food, and medical services. This way, tourism yields an additional income, greatly supporting the country’s economy. Secondly, tourism increases the level of employment by bringing new jobs. For instance, the influx of tourists results in a larger demand for restaurant workers, tour guides, hotel staff and employees of retail services, exhorting business owners to hire more people for these positions. On the other hand, tourism also has some major disadvantages like the destruction of popular tourist destinations and the development of illegal economic activities. Ancient buildings, temples and monuments struggle to cope with a vast amount of visitor traffic and get damaged. Also, the large number of tourists can cause environmental problems. For instance, when places of interest are overcrowded, natural resources often become overexploited. What’s more, the presence of a considerable number of tourists with a lot of money to spend, and often carrying valuables such as cameras and jewellery, increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery and drug dealing. To conclude, although tourism can have certain negative effects like destructive impact and growth of crime rate, it has an extremely positive influence on the country’s economy and provides a large number of new jobs for the local people. I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.