You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Some countries and their governments find it necessary to implement economic policies that would prevent from stacking import of low-cost agricultural products on shelves of supermarkets or food stores. They often put in place an extra tax on imported food to make its price higher. The question is why do the governments try to enforce taxes on imported food? Does this economic policy benefit and protect farmers? Certainly, the higher tax on imported food products by the governments benefit farmers. It provides a steady source of revenue that can pay farmers their subsidies. Obviously, producing food isn’t cheap and requires a lot of manual and mechanical labour in order to grow and harvest it. For instance, many large fruit producers in Florida rely on manual workers to pick up oranges in the peak season, so any labour cost or equipment used needs to be calculated into the price of food. As a result, these expenses make locally grown food sometimes more expensive. However, this coast is often absorbed by the government that pay farmers the subsidies to sell agricultural products at a lower price than their cost of production. Therefore, the taxation of imported food can provide needed revenue to provide financial assistance to farmers. Most importantly, the policy of taxation is necessary to protect farmers from losing their livelihoods. The policy prevents the competition from entering the market, so there is no external force to push farmers to lower their prices below the cost of their production. For example, many farmers in Latin America firsthand had experienced in the early 90s the consequences of the free trade agreement known as NAFTA. This agreement had permitted the influx of cheap food imports to their countries. As a result, many farmers from South America lost their farms and were pushed into poverty because they couldn’t keep up and compete with extremely low prices of imported goods. I truly believe this policy is necessary. Simply, the high tax on imports helps to protect farmers from living in poverty and the government can generate enough revenue to provide them with financial assistance to make their hard work profitable.