In the 20th century, contact between many different parts of the world has developed rapidly through air travel and telecommunications. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the advancement of telecommunication technology and the prevalence of air travel change the way of communication between people. We easily maintain contact with others in the world. The situation has positive impacts, also has some drawbacks; however, in my opinion, the former outweighs the latter. These will be explored in the essay. To begin with the benefits, with the above-mentioned new developments, communication among people is more effective than before. Through the internet, we can contact our family members, friends, colleagues, and clients whenever and wherever we are. For example, by using instant communication software such as Zoom and WhatsApp, we can arrange video conferences and send messages to our colleagues who are in the other part of the world instantly. Thus, the effectiveness of communication is highly improved. Furthermore, the decreasing price of air flights helps people to travel around the world for business and travelling. It also eliminates geographic boundaries which set people apart and brings us closer. With these in mind, in such a situation, people can keep in touch with others conveniently. However, those advantages need to be considered in light of the drawbacks, and the most concerning of these is the impact of instant communication. It is because most of these messages are sent out and received almost at the same time. People are expected to reply immediately. Under such circumstances, distractions and anxiety will be placed on those who receive the messages, especially in the workplace. It would be detrimental to their emotional well-being if the situation remains for a long period of time. In conclusion, despite the disadvantage having a negative impact on the emotional health of a person, the convenience of keeping in touch with others has more benefits.