With an increasing population communicating via the Internet and text-messaging, face-to-face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely claimed that interaction by person will be reduced mainly because communication on social platforms are getting more popular over the years. From my point of view this tendency has great possibilities to happen. To begin with, I am of the belief that this rampant trend plagues our society and especially the younger generation. Kids are growing up socializing through social media instead of playing on the streets as we used to do a few years ago. Social media are also addictive as a result, these kids are depended on this way of communicating. A clear illustration of this could be said to be that, recent research carried out by two prominent psychologists at MIT university has shown that interacting through social platforms like Instagram, Facebook and Viber, increase the production of dopamine which results in addiction. In addition, many kids prefer to socialize via the Internet as they found it much easier and convenient than interacting by person. For example, many of those children have the opportunity to meet a new friend on the Internet by playing video games or just by follow someone on Instagram, then they text each other and if they share same interests may build a strong friendship. But this can lead them to be more antisocial in real life because with this way they do not develop their social skills. To sum up, never before have we seen so many teenagers interacting through the Internet and it is urgent action be taken in order to stamp out this issue. Otherwise, face-to-face communication will be eliminated.