Some people think that teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Community service is a great deed and some people think that no wage community work if done by adolescents in their spare time can be fruitful for not only the community but themselves too. However, I do not fully agree with the above statement and this essay will discuss the reasons below. First of all, there is no doubt about the benefits of doing community work regardless of the pay as doing something for society will always be returned manifolds. For example, when we take care of the elderly, they often bless us for our future endeavours and also share their invaluable life experience which can help an individual in tackling similar situations if they arise. Moreover, teenagers meet all sorts of people while working for this noble cause and can increase their network as well as learn to deal with real problems. This will result in their personal growth tremendously as well as help them grow in their professional life. So it is undeniable that community work will make a society more prosperous and stable as there will be less problems to tend to. Be that as it may, getting paid for this service is a different issue. Sometimes, teenagers can lose interest in things which do not give tangible rewards. Therefore, giving a wage, even if it is small, will definitely attract more people towards community service. Moreover, they will do their work even more efficiently because of the lure of pay. In conclusion, I think if a teenager volunteers community service without considering the wage, it is great on his part but giving payment will help them stay motivated for this job so I do not fully agree with the given statement.