Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The current generation’s inclination towards conquering every aspect of life is quite evident. Presently, being competitive is not seen as a negative trait, but such characteristics are encouraged, especially among the youth. It is believed by many that an ambitious disposition is essential to survive in the fast-paced environment that we live in today. However, the value of being complaisant with peers is also recognized by certain segments of society. I feel that youngsters should be taught to be cooperative from an early age. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I will explore the topic from both these viewpoints. First and foremost, we must address the circumstances that are prevalent in this day and age. Today, nearly every trade is saturated with highly educated and trained professionals. The notion of seeking high-paying employment with an ordinary college degree has become old-fashioned. If an individual does not possess an array of qualifications and skills, they are considered ineligible for a majority of lucrative job roles in reputed organizations. Thus, if the standards and goals of a person are not set high from a young age in this present era, they are left to lead a substandard lifestyle in the future. Nevertheless, the significance of having positive life skills and an amenable nature should also be acknowledged. It is a discernible fact that a person who has constructive social skills and an ethical moral compass is always valued more than a self-centred individual. For example, children who share their toys with classmates and enjoy them together are always well-liked and can make friends easily. Similarly, individuals who include others in their successes are the ones who are supported by their loved ones to reach even greater heights in life. Therefore, it can be surmised that having a cordial personality is more favourable since, with the aid of others, our potential triumphs become limitless. In conclusion, both zealous and generous attributes are vital to a person’s character as both have their merits in society. That being said, children should be taught to recognize the value in uplifting others along with themselves as there is strength in unity.