The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether adding more physical training in a school is a controversial issue today. I completely disagree that it can cope with the issue concerning the increasing overweight population. First of all, I believe that the amount of provided physical training time in educational institutions is sufficient in most countries, except for a few countries such as South Korea. One of the main problems about this is related to the social environment that compels pupils to study immoderately. For instance, in the case of South Korea, although their physical education class is very insufficient compared with the most advanced countries, many high schools even force them to study in physical training classes as most people believe it is all to obtain good grades to enter high-level universities. We can find this tendency in a large number of countries. Therefore, to address this problem, we should focus on improving their social environment and educational system, not instituting more physical activities. Secondly, it is almost impossible to execute more physical exercises in public educational institutions in most countries. We have to consider the balance among classes and between school life and after-school life. For example, it can mean that a relatively minor class disappears or the amount of primary class time, such as literature, mathematics, and history, diminishes if the physical education class amount goes up to the point where most people can feel the positive effects. Hence, it is nearly impossible and can cause several side effects. Alternatively, it should be a more effective approach that public academies have to compulsorily provide enjoyable and active activities such as club activities. In conclusion, I strongly believe that rising physical education in school is not a practical means to deal with juvenile obesity.