Some people believe that technology causes more problems for modern society than it solves. Do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that modern technological development has done more harm than good to both the individual and society as a whole. Even though I do agree that technology has complicated human life to an unhealthy degree, turning away from technology is quite impractical as it could improve overall public health and education. First and foremost, our lives have become too complex and riddled with daily annoyances. True solitude is no longer the case for an average adult as we are now often buried under layers of work-related email notifications or text messages. Even in the young, there are numerous phone applications for students to receive and turn in home assignments. Evidently, this need to stay constantly connected is stressful and exhausting. Another point worth considering is that daily entertainment is also linked with technological devices such as televisions, computers, or smartphones, all of which are extremely addictive. Reports from multiple countries have shown that there is irreversible damage to human brains from excessive screen-time usage. It is scientifically proven that people with this addiction experienced a decrease in grey matter volume in critical areas, a condition similarly observed in those with a substance use disorder. At the same time, medical and educational technologies have been providing innumerable benefits to modern society. In fact, due to medical advances, doctors are now able to diagnose health problems 300% more accurately than just five decades ago. This greatly facilitates timely intervention and improves positive outcomes. Furthermore, innovative medical products can now also replace and sustain failing body functions, thereby supporting people in living full and active lives. Additionally, the use of information and communication technologies plays a crucial role in providing a more accessible learning process. In the recent Covid-19 pandemic, for instance, “learning poverty” was at an all-time high for most underdeveloped countries. As local schools were forced to close due to the disease, remote learning was then deployed using a combination of TV, Online, and Mobile Platforms, which can teach thousands of students simultaneously. Commendably, now most countries have invested in digital infrastructure, and are still utilizing various implementations of remote learning. In conclusion, despite its fair share of problems, technological innovations personally are still a blessing for modern society due to the improvements it provides in terms of healthcare and education.