With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

With the higher standard of living and improvement in the healthcare system, the average life expectancy in the world is significantly increasing. A controversial question may arise regarding the capability of the current generation to take care of ageing baby boomer generation. Some measures also have to be taken to manage those elders. I believe society today are able to safeguard elderly people because of better healthcare service. and the advancement of science and medicine. People die earlier in countries that have only poor health care facilities. For example, we witnessed the hunger crisis in Ethiopia between the period of 1970 to 1980 and it was heavily affected by low access to livestock, economic crisis, and lack of medical care. Today, with the world’s economy is emerging, fewer people are working hard jobs to earn a living, which means they stay fit physically for longer. Therefore, modern science and healthcare inresults in results life expectancy increasing. Several courses of action can be taken to take care of elderly people. Promoting a healthy lifestyle by eating fruits and vegetables, avoiding saturated fats must be put in the highest priority. In several countries such as the United States, the number of obese people tends to increase, signalling a red alert to the government to control its people ’s daily consumption. Developing positive social well-being is also a way to enhance the life expectancy of the elderly. This can be done by exploring new and meaningful activities, like granny ballet, folk dance, calligraphy. This can help maintain their mental alertness. In conclusion, I am confident that society will care for the elderly well by guiding them to follow a healthy lifestyle and be actively involved in social activities.