Research suggests that majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

It is well-known that the percentage of prisoners who commit crimes after setting free have alarming rates. There are various reasons why this problem occurs: the lack of job opportunities when they leave the prison and a non-severe punishment for recidivists might be one of the main reasons. To begin with, the main reason for this problem is that the majority of penitentiaries around the world especially in Brazil, do not have a professional qualification program in which criminals could learn new abilities while severing their sentence. Consequently, when they left prisons it is hard to reintegrate into the job market and committing a crime is the only way of surviving. Another reason for this issue is that the punishment for a second -time offender is not as severe as it should be. Thus, once the criminal has already stayed in prison, they understand how the system works and are conscious about the difficulties they will or will not face. A solution to this matter would be taken by the government and the community. Firstly, the government could implement professional courses inside the penitentiaries or give financial incentives to the companies that hire ex-prisoners. Since it might help them get a job and reintegrate into society. Secondly, the punishment for recidivists should be maximum in such a way that prisoners cannot afford to stay in prisons again, it could include more years in jails and fewer family visits. In conclusion, the majority of criminals tend to do criminal activities again, because it is difficult to find a job with a criminal past, and the punishment is not severe. However, some initiatives should be taken such as professional courses and strict sentences for recidivists.