The Internet has dramatically altered our lives over the past few decades. Although some of these changes have been negative, the overall effect of this technology has been positive. What are your opinions on this?

Over the past few decades, the usage of the internet has been increased since the revolution in information technology begin. This has changed the way people use to live in past compared to the present. The effect of such technology has been in the favour of the public, however, the other side cannot be ignored. This essay discusses the negative effects and will justify my opinion. To begin with, ever since the advancements in the internet field, it has influenced the lives of society. They spent most of their time on the internet, having conversations with their online friends. Many applications and social platforms are created across the globe which helps to connect with their friends, family members, and the person they admire. For example, the general public talks to others through Whatsapp, Instagram, and Facebook and they do not socialize in person. They communicate through these platforms and eventually lose the actual form of talking by face to face. Secondly, using more and more internet has caused addiction toward the usage of it. Children spent most of the time on the internet either watching movies through over-the-top services or listening to music or viewing videos on youtube. They also get additive to online games, for example, PUBG, candy crush, and many other internet games were the most popular among the users. They spent hours and hours on such virtual things which overshadowed their other life interest and daily activities. In addition to this, people with internet addiction lose their cognitive skills like the ability to read, slow information process, analytical thinking, and decreased sustained attention. To conclude, the positive outcome of this technology has been helping communities in many ways, but the negative effects such as losing social skills and being addicted to the internet cannot be cornered.