Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, Stealing content from other resources is one of the major issues that are facing scholars around the world. This essay will discuss one of the causes of this problem and a practical solution to overcome this dilemma. Due to technological breakthroughs, a primary reason for plagiarism is the resources' abundance over the web, People can access all the news, articles, and books everywhere in a digital format, Nevertheless, they can download these articles for free most of the time. For example, if a student wants to write an essay about human rights, he will find numerous articles talking about the same topic exactly. Moreover, these articles are expressing a lot of different points of view, which would typically intrigue that student to just copy the paragraph, paste it and directly submit it to his school. In my opinion, various solutions could be implemented by the schools or faculties to effectively prevent this behaviour to a certain degree. One of the main solutions is using software that could highlight the plagiarized content. This software is somehow affordable and sometimes even free of charge. Investing in software like that would definitely make the scholar rethink multiple times before submitting any copied content. If the scholar knows the consequences in advance, most probably he would never use any kind of plagiarism. In conclusion, copyrights and cheating are huge problems that should be addressed by all means, in my view, I believe that using technology and machine learning techniques to fight these behaviours would highly tackle the problem and preserve the authors' rights from getting stolen.