Advertisements cause more harm than benefits both to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is sometimes argued that the disadvantages of advertisements outweigh the advantages, particularly when considering the impacts they might have on both individuals and society as a whole. While there is some truth to this claim, I believe that advertising generally benefits society in terms of economic development and information dissemination. One of the negative sides of advertising is impulse buying, which is often prompted by tempting TV and internet advertisements. Lacking the ability to evaluate the value and quality of a product accurately, many people may purchase unwanted items on impulse, which can lead to overspending and increased credit card debt. On the other hand, one major benefit of advertising is its contribution to the economic growth of a country. To garner public interest in their products, many companies employ famous athletes or film stars to emphasize their unique qualities or effectiveness, which can influence consumer behaviour and greatly stimulate consumption. This marketing strategy can be highly effective in boosting sales and potentially creating new markets. Another positive aspect of advertisements is the provision of up-to-date information about goods and services to consumers. Advertised products often reflect general trends or public interests in fashion, health, food, and other consumer preferences. Thus, advertisements of products not only help consumers become familiar with the characteristics of the merchandise advertised but also guide them towards making sensible purchasing decisions based on genuine need. In conclusion, while advertisements sometimes encourage unnecessary purchases, they also help drive products and market trends. Therefore, I believe that advertising brings more benefits than harm.